wrong career choice, right artistic choice: Alaskan Composer Wins Pulitzer For ‘Become Ocean’

HUIZENGA: Any ideas of how winning this award might change your career?

JOHN LUTHER ADAMS: I never thought much about career. I’m an artist. You know, I moved to Alaska in my 20s. I never studied with the right people at the right schools. Early on I didn’t win the right prizes. It seems that every time I had the opportunity to make the right career choice, I made the wrong career choice, which in the long run turned out to be the right artistic choice. And now, after 40 years or more of doing this, it seems like maybe there’s a larger audience for the work and that’s profoundly gratifying.

http://n.pr/1CKeB57

Leave a Reply

